Solovy Award for Advancement in COPD

The Solovy Award for Advancement in COPD recognizes innovation and continued progress in the prevention, treatment and cure for COPD.

The award was established at Respiratory Health Association by Kathleen Hart Solovy in memory of her husband, Jerold S. Solovy, a distinguished Chicago trial lawyer and former chairman of Jenner & Block. Jerry lived for many years with COPD, and both he and Kathleen recognized the health burden to those who live with COPD.


Solovy Award Call for Nominations 2018

RHA invites you to submit nominations recognizing individuals nationwide who have made outstanding contributions to Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) research to improve the quality of life for those living with COPD. One award will be given. The recipient will receive $15,000 to be used for COPD research as the awardee deems fit.

For more information, please download the COPD Award Call for Nominations 2018 and Solovy Award Nomination Form 2018.

Nomination deadline:  Friday, March 16, 2018 by 5:00PM (CST)

Award notification: Friday, April 6, 2018 by 5:00PM (CST)

This award will be presented at Respiratory Health Association’s Summer Reception in Chicago, Illinois on June 28, 2018.


Solovy Award Eligibility Criteria

Candidates are expected to have made significant research contributions impacting the field of COPD. The Solovy Award for Advancement in COPD will be awarded to an individual at any stage of his or her career for one or more research contributions in the area of COPD.

This award may recognize a lifetime contribution to basic, clinical/translational (including patient-oriented research) and social/behavioral studies.

The award may recognize either a body of research work accomplished over the career of the awardee or for specific research accomplishments during the year preceding the awardee’s nomination.

This award is not limited to scientific accomplishment or direct patient care.


Past Recipients

2017 Solovy Award for Advancement in COPD – Dr. Jerry Krishnan

2016 Solovy Award for Advancement in COPD – Dr. Malcolm M. DeCamp


For more information about the Solovy Award for Advancement in COPD, contact Jennifer Kustwin, Senior Program Coordinator, via email at